Connect With Us

Chess Problem Winners - 2023

PAST WEEKLY CHESS CONTEST WINNERS — 2023

Sunday, December 24, 2023 – December 30, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

James Koreski! Bridgeport, West Virginia – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Noah Charles! Black River Falls, Wisconsin – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Jayden He! Hornsby, New South Wales – Australia

Sunday, December 17, 2023 – December 23, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Stephanie Velea! Sammamish, Washington – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Elaine Joyce Mabborang! Long Beach, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Alejandro Reyes Jr! Milwaukee, Wisconsin – USA

Sunday, December 10, 2023 – December 16, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Lynn Harjes Jurcsek! Edison, New Jersey – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Bruce Bush, MD! The Villages, Florida – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Alexandre Mikhailine! Rotunda West, Florida – USA

Sunday, December 3, 2023 – December 9, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

James Connell! Pike Road, Alabama – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Aimee Walker-Atkinson! Azle, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Christine Cisneros! Ann Arbor, Michigan – USA

Sunday, November 26, 2023 – December 2, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Lisa Ligon! Monahans, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Lucas Hopkin! Nibley, Utah – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

John Smith! Waterville, Ohio – USA

Sunday, November 19, 2023 – November 25, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Michael Scullin! Alpine, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Mahmood Hasan! Tracy, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Mikhail Lyubansky! Urbana, Illinois – USA

Sunday, November 12, 2023 – November 18, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Roshan Komminani! New Meadows, Idaho – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

George Carner! Mission, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Nathan Peskin! Hartford, Connecticut – USA

Sunday, November 5, 2023 – November 11, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Elaine Joyce Mabborang! Long Beach, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Rob Schad! Marshfield, Missouri – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Henry Lockhart! Howell, New Jersey – USA

Sunday, October 29, 2023 – November 4, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

William Brady Butler, Atlanta, Georgia – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Matthew Scott! Grand Saline, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Chris Lewis! Squamish, British Columbia – Canada

Sunday, October 22, 2023 – October 28, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Sean J. Leven, Centennial, Colorado – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Steven Douglas Page III! Groveton, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Richard Koss! Wickliffe, Ohio – USA

Sunday, October 15, 2023 – October 21, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Bruce Treubel, Mandeville, Louisiana – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Jemuel Castillo! Baton Rouge, Louisiana – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Thang Nguyen! San Jose, California – USA

Sunday, October 8, 2023 – October 14, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Karen Kuo! Prosper, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Donald Polanco! Nampa, Idaho – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Parker Outcalt! Indianapolis, Indiana – USA

Sunday, October 1, 2023 – October 7, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Jacob Williams! Godley, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Christian Haile! Orange, Florida – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Rolando Santos! Casa Grande, Arizona – USA

Sunday, September 24, 2023 – September 30, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Jaxon Kieffer! Winona, Minnesota – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Michael Graham Lester! Post, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Stavros Orduli! McKinney, Texas – USA

Sunday, September 17, 2023 – September 23, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Sharon Cooper! St. Neots, Cambridgeshire – United Kingdom

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Chris Enright! Tamborine Mountain, Queensland – Australia

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Paul Ryan! Dublin – Ireland

Sunday, September 10, 2023 – September 16, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Cristian Rubio! Littlefield, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Chris Smith! Springfield, Illinois – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Daren Qiu! Southaven, Mississippi – USA

Sunday, September 3, 2023 – September 9, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Carlos Valdes-Casillas! Corvallis, Oregon – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Christopher Whitson Walter! Abilene, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Rein Everest! Fort Wayne, Indiana – USA

Sunday, August 27, 2023 – September 2, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Stefaun Wright! Wichita, Kansas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Erica Moody! Keene, New Hampshire – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Bridger Hokanson! Gillette, Wyoming – USA

Sunday, August 20, 2023 – Saturday, August 26, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Sara Giogis! Silver Spring, Maryland – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

C. Chambers! South Roxana, Illinois – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Jacob Reese! Austin, Texas – USA

Sunday, August 13, 2023 – Saturday, August 19, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Amadi Ajamu! Jamaica, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Eric Schoen! Vero Beach, Florida – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Phil Johnson! St. Louis, Missouri – USA

Sunday, August 6, 2023 – Saturday, August 12, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Michael Hammer! Medford, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Peter Kurzhals! Fountain Valley, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Raphael Chalk! London, England – United Kingdom

Sunday, July 30, 2023 – Saturday, August 5, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Nathaniel Hamilton Jr.! Dillon, South Carolina – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Kelly Neil! Franklin, New Hampshire – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Gerry Ohlson! Beaverton, Oregon – USA

Sunday, July 23, 2023 – Saturday, July 29, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Élisabeth Mascrier! La Trinité, France

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Elkanah Fam! Leander, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Adhrit Goswami! Dublin, California – USA

Sunday, July 16, 2023 – Saturday, July 22, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Roberto Rodriguez! Richmond, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Marian Edmonds! Roswell, Georgia – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Greg Horner! Tigard, Oregon – USA

Sunday, July 9, 2023 – Saturday, July 15, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Squeeb Dawoud! New York City, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Shmuel Goldshmit! Fallsburg, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Candace L. Herrill! Tigard, Oregon – USA

Sunday, July 2, 2023 – Saturday, July 8, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Rory D. Bell! Indianapolis, Indiana – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Roger Sugerman! Scranton, Pennsylvania – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Leisha Daswani! Dubai – United Arab Emirates

Sunday, June 25, 2023 – Saturday, July 1, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Cayden Rinquest! Cape Town, Western Province – South Africa

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Oscar Ramirez! Providence, Rhode Island – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Thaddaeus Joseph ter Meer! Carmichael, California – USA

Sunday, June 18, 2023 – Saturday, June 24, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Alexa Kelley! East Lansing, Michigan – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Eric W. Crawford! East Lansing, Michigan – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Anna Delgasheva! Toronto, Ontario – Canada

Sunday, June 11, 2023 – Saturday, June 17, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Barry Seager! Norwalk, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Nourelhoda Gouda! Staten Island, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Atticus Bent! Boston, Massachusetts – USA

Sunday, June 4, 2023 – Saturday, June 10, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

John Nguyen! Garland, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Roy Wilson! Chesapeake, Virginia – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

David Marshall Emery! Naples, Florida – USA

Sunday, May 28, 2023 – Saturday, June 3, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Matvei Levanov! Auburn, Washington – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Vernon Jacob! Edison, New Jersey – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Jim Stout! North Chesterfield, Virginia – USA

Sunday, May 21, 2023 – Saturday, May 27, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Ryden Butnick! Potomac, Maryland – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Isabella Rivera! New York, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Rachel Deng! Oradell, New Jersey – USA

Sunday, May 14, 2023 – Saturday, May 20, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Tara La France! Rosamond, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Colin Cerchiaro! Dunwoody, Georgia – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Austin Veng-Pedersen! Ankeny, Iowa – USA

Sunday, May 7, 2023 – Saturday, May 13, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Avangeline Vincent! Kingston, Massachusetts – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Kai Kwee-Hallem! New York City, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Naman Gupta! Potomac, Maryland – USA

Sunday, April 30, 2023 – Saturday, May 6, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Leo Zhang! Port Orange, Florida – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Alexander Ng! Fremont, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Chase Kanaga! Round Rock, Texas – USA

Sunday, April 23, 2023 – Saturday, April 29, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Jacob Larscheidt! West Bend, Wisconsin – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Carl Gustafson! Iowa City, Iowa – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Andrew Smith! Blacksville, West Virginia – USA

Sunday, April 16, 2023 – Saturday, April 22, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Heli Pablo! Santa Ana, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Todd Gao! Springfield, Missouri – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Jacky Lumarque! Miami, Florida – USA

Sunday, April 9, 2023 – Saturday, April 15, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Ian Floyd Henry! Silva, North Carolina – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Mark Heiberg! Mirboo North, Victoria – Australia

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Peter Krause! Lansing, Michigan – USA

Sunday, April 2, 2023 – Saturday, April 8, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Benjamin Connor! Santa Barbara, California – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Ben Koval! Moses Lake, Washington – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

John Lin! Erie, Pennsylvania – USA

Sunday, March 26, 2023 – Saturday, April 1, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Kelsie Mitchell! Adel, Georgia – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Alexandre Dimtchev! Bethesda, Maryland – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Tatiana Panova! Pleasanton, California – USA

Sunday, March 19, 2023 – Saturday, March 25, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Jack Clark! Rochester, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Betty Mac! Cambridge, Massachusetts – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Chad Forsman! Omaha, Nebraska – USA

Sunday, March 12, 2023 – Saturday, March 18, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Jakodi McGuinness! Boynton Beach, Florida – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Krista Clapp! Napoleon, Ohio – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Timothy Cline! Helena, Montana – USA

Sunday, March 5, 2023 – Saturday, March 11, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Liam Wright! St. Louis, Missouri – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Samuel Bowman! Arlington, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Joseph Sogno! Manchester Center, Vermont – USA

Sunday, February 26, 2023 – Saturday, March 4, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

William Senger! Bethesda, Maryland – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Andrea Koničeková! Komárno, Slovakia – Slovakia

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Warren Porter! Jackson, Mississippi – USA

Sunday, February 19, 2023 – Saturday, February 25, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Joseph Lemay! Fall River, Massachusetts – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Ashley Petersen! Chicago, Illinois – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Nick Doria! Dallas, Texas – USA

Sunday, February 12, 2023 – Saturday, February 18, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Nathan Banke! Rochester, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Peter Gerard Ciarleglio! Franklin, Tennessee – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Christa Bedetse! Pearland, Texas – USA

Sunday, February 05, 2023 – Saturday, February 11, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Gregory Barnwell! Rincon, Georgia – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Travis Chevalier! Little Elm, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Liam Chadwick! Arcanum, Ohio – USA

Sunday, january 29, 2023 – Saturday, February 04, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Kimberly Fleming! Las Vegas, Nevada – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Amanda Chute! Denver, Colorado – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

George Perez! Encinitas, California – USA

Sunday, january 22, 2023 – Saturday, january 28, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Selena Peralta! Metairie, Louisiana - USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

George McCarthy! Astoria, New York – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Carson Ouckama! Napa, Idaho– USA

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Brayden Radke! Dublin, Ohio – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Gregory Carver! Valley Center, Kansas – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Kenneth Kuhn! Lakeland, Florida – USA

Sunday, january 08, 2023 – Saturday, january 14, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Sara Velazquez-Brooks! New Braufels, Texas – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Lucas X Orton! Crestwood, Kentucky – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Jin Ha Kim! Camden, Delaware – USA

Sunday, january 01, 2023 – Saturday, january 07, 2023:

Checkmate–In–One Winner!

Wilson Hartley! Dover, Delaware – USA

Checkmate–In–Two Winner!

Zander Peck! Camden, Delaware – USA

Checkmate–In–Three Winner!

Eva Jones! Maidstone, Kent – United Kingdom